Test. November 2

1. Write to be in the appropriate form.

We were not here last week.
Was the weather nice when you were on holiday?
Am I late now? No, you are on time.
You were late yesterday.
I am cold. Can you close the window, please?
My sister is afraid of dogs.
We were not interested in politics.
They are not hungry, but they are thirsty.
What is your favourite colour?
I was tired last night.

2. Write there is in the appropriate form.

There is a good film on TV tonight. There was not a good film on TV last night.
Were there any phone messages for me yesterday?
‘We stayed at a nice hotel.’ ‘Really? Were there a swimming pool?’
I am sorry, I am late. There was a lot of traffic.
We didn’t visit the museum. There were not enough time.
Այս նյութը վերցված է Լիլիթ Ղազարյանի բլոգից:
3. Write the past simple and participle II of these irregular and regular verbs.

get – got – got
see – saw – seen
play – played – played
pay – paid – paid
visit – visited – visited
buy – bought – bought
go – went – gone
think – thought – thought
copy – copied – copied
know – knew – known
put – put – put
speak – spoke – spoken

4. Translate these sentences into English.

1. Այսօր արևոտ է, բայց տաք չէ: Հիմա չի անձրևում:
Today is sunny, but not warm. It isn’t raining now.
2. Աշնանը հաճախ անձրև է գալիս:
It often rains in autumn.
3. Մեր դասասենյակը փոքր է: Այն 2 մեծ դասասենյակների միջև է: Դասասենյակում կան 4 դասասեղաններ և 24 աթոռներ:
Our classroom is small. It’s in middle of the 2 big classrooms. There were 4 tables and 24 chairs in the classroom.
4. Որտե՞ղ է իմ ակնոցը: Այն սեղանի վրա է:
Where are my glasses? They are on the table.
5. Ո՞ւմ հետ է խոսում Ջուլիան հիմա:
Who is Julia talking to now?
6. Նրա հայրը հիվանդանոցում է: Ո՞ր հիվանդանոցում է նա:
His/her father is in hospital. Which hospital is he in?
7. Մենք հենց նոր ենք վերադարձել արձակուրդից:
We just come back of holiday.
8. Ի՞նչ է այդ մարդու անունը:
What is that man’s name?
9. Դու խոսո՞ւմ ես իսպաներեն:
Do you speak Spanish? Are you speaking Spanish?
10. Որտե՞ղ ես դու ապրում:
Where do you live? Where are you living?
Այս նյութը վերցված է Լիլիթ Ղազարյանի բլոգից:
5. Complete the following in the same way.

a. Read these 2 sentences.
The bell is ringing. The bell has just rung.

1. He is leaving the house.
He has just left the house.
2. He is having breakfast.
He has just had breakfast.
3. She is making the bed.
She has just made the bed.
4. She is buying a new hat.
She has just bought a new hat.
5. She is turning on the radio.
She has just turned on the radio.

b. Read these 2 sentences.
He is still having breakfast. He hasn’t had breakfast yet.

1. She is still washing the dishes.
She hasn’t washed the dishes yet.
2. She is still making the beds.
She hasn’t made the beds yet.
3. He is still combing his hair.
He hasn’t combed his hair yet.
4. She is still sweeping the floor.
She hasn’t swept the floor yet.
5. We are still reading ‘Macbeth.’
We haven’t read ‘Macbeth’ yet.
Այս նյութը վերցված է Լիլիթ Ղազարյանի բլոգից:
c. Read these 2 sentences.
I have already had lunch. Have you had lunch yet?

1. I have already seen the new play at ‘The Globe’ theater.
Have you seen the new play at ‘The Globe’ theater yet?
2. I have already taken my holidays.
Have you taken your holidays yet?
3. I have already read this book.
Have you read this book yet?
4. I have already done my homework.
Have you done your homework yet?
5. I have already finished my work.
Have you finished your work yet?

6. Make disjunctive questions: complete the question tags. E.g. Jack is playing the piano, isn’t he?

1. You live in a city, don’t you?
2. You are not fifteen years old, aren’t you?
3. Carol is writing a testisn’t he?
4. They were having lunch at the time, weren’t they?
5. You’ve been to France, haven’t you?
6. I’m not the only one, are I?
7. They all passed the test, didn’t they?
8. You haven’t seen Linda anywhere, have you?
9. Mark doesn’t eat meat, does he?
10. You weren’t waiting for me, were you?
Այս նյութը վերցված է Լիլիթ Ղազարյանի բլոգից:
7. Use the verbs in the brackets in the correct tense form:

1. I have never come (never come) across such a big snake in my life. What about you?
2. We were looking for (look for) her ring for two hours when we found it in the bathroom.
3. Hi, I am (be) Matt Rotell, a friend of Alice’s.
4. While climbing onto the mountain top, I met (meet) a strange animal which I’d never seen before.
5. If I find (find) a good job, I’ll move to Madrid.

Leave a comment